Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Featured Members
Kathy RileyABPA Region 3 Director
Lyle M. GreenhillABPA Region 6 Director

2015 Election Results
Share |






 American Backflow Prevention Association Announces

2015-2017 President, Vice President and Region Directors

International President

Mr. John Graham – Water Quality Program Manager, California Water Service (San Jose, CA)

John has worked for the last 14 years as Water Quality Program Manager for California Water Service, which is the largest subsidiary of California Water Service Group, with operations in California, Hawaii, New Mexico, and Washington.  Having worked in the water industry for more than 28 years, John has been involved with all facets of water system construction, operation, maintenance, and management.  John has been involved in cross-connection control since 1992, and has developed programs for more than 70 water systems ranging from small communities to large municipalities.  His industry volunteer experience includes the ABPA Certification Committee, the AWWA Cross-Connection Control Committee, and the California-Nevada Section AWWA certification program. He is a frequent speaker and training provider in the field of cross-connection control and was honored in 2011 as a recipient of the ABPA Gold Eagle Award.

John resides in northern California and has been married to his wife Catriel for 29 years.  Together they have three children, adult sons Tim and Nick; and daughter Kaleigh who is a junior in high school.  They also have four wonderful grandchildren. 


International Vice President

Mr. Timothy Brown – Environmental Compliance Specialist, Albemarle County Service Authority (Charlottesville, VA)

Tim oversees the Cross-Connection Control and Backflow Prevention Program, among other water quality, environmental management, and pollution-prevention responsibilities, for a county water authority.  Since his arrival in 2009, he has expanded the backflow program to now monitor over 3,600 assemblies, re-written an ordinance that has served as a model for other municipalities, increased public education, and earned the respect of contractors and customers.  Prior to his current position with the ACSA, Tim taught Biology at the college level, was the director of a service authority overseeing water and solid waste, and served as the manager of a private water-testing laboratory.

            In 2014, Tim accepted the position of ABPA Region 2 Director, as well as leadership of the Virginia chapter which had been dormant for some 15 months.  The chapter has experienced solid growth in the past year and will hopefully serve as a “seed” for other Region 2 chapters.  Tim was very active in the thorough review and editing of the ABPA bylaws over the past several months, culminating in Board approval of the document in May, 2015 and release for membership review.

            Tim enjoys hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains of western Virginia whenever possible. He wants you to contact him whenever the need arises, or just to say hello.   

Region Directors:

  • Region 1 - Peter McLaughlin – Manager, Engineering Customer Service, City of Providence Water Supply Board Cross Connection Control Program (Providence, RI)
  • Region 3 – Kathy Riley – Backflow Services Investigator, Charlotte Water, Backflow Division (Charlotte, NC)
  • Region 5 – Fred Spengler – President, Backflow Consulting, Testing, and Repair, Inc. and Amerimid Consulting Services
  • Region 7 – Stephen West – Co-owner, Northwest Cross-Connection Training (Eugene, OR) 
  • Region 11 – Ron Chapman – Sales, BAVCO (Allen Park, MI) 

“The ABPA leadership team welcomes the addition of Vice President Brown, and Directors Chapman, Spengler and West, to the 2015-2017 Board of Directors. Returning Directors McLaughlin and Riley will continue to serve the Association with distinction as they have in their previous terms.  With their and the other Directors support, I look forward to serving the needs of our membership” said John Graham, incoming ABPA International President.

The 2015-2017 Board was sworn into office at the Annual Awards Dinner Banquet Tuesday, May 19 during the 31st Annual International Conference and Trade Show held at the Sheraton Music City Hotel in Nashville, TN, May 18 - 20.

Elections Committee Chair, Bill Hamrick

1-(877) 227-2127

Sign In
Sign In securely

ABPA CCC Specialist Exam - Phoenix, AZ

9/10/2017 » 9/11/2017
Building Safety & Design Expo / ICC Conference

ABPA Certification Exam -Hill AFB, UT

9/15/2017 » 9/16/2017
ABPA Certification Exam - Phoenix, AZ

ABPA Certification Exam - Jefferson City, MO